Breathe Deep…. Netflix announces the release date for Marvel’s Iron Fist.

Heads up warriors of K’un L’un!  Neflix has announced the release date for Marvel’s Iron Fist.

 

As information starts to trickle out of the mystical city, today we were also treated to one of the first “official” on set pictures of one Mr. Daniel Rand in action.  Take special note of the bodies in the background!  These thugs clearly picked on the wrong man on the wrong day.

68oxotetx5adxdj2b75g4byghfmzknwrj9nnkm44cai

The cast is as follows:

A billionaire Buddhist monk and martial arts expert, proficient in kung-fu with the ability to call upon the power of the Iron Fist. On being cast as the character, Jones said he was drawn to the character and his background, saying, “I really enjoy how he’s a superhero with a real heart but has spiritual elements as well. I think it’s going to be an exciting character to play because there’s this contraction of on one hand he’s from a very wealthy family, he’s a billionaire, on the other hand he’s been in this world of K’un-Lun for a long time where he’s learned kung fu and buddhist philosophy. There’s a contradiction in those elements that’s going to be really fun to play.” In preparation for the role, Jones studied kung fu, wushu and tai chi, along with weight training, Buddhist philosophy and meditation.
  • Jessica Henwick as Colleen Wing: An ally of Rand, who runs her own martial arts dojo in New York City.
  • David Wenham as Harold Meachum: A ruthless corporate leader who was partners with Rand’s parents at the time of their deaths.
  • Jessica Stroup as Joy Meachum: The daughter of Harold and childhood acquaintance of Rand’s, whose work building up Rand Enterprises with her brother Ward is threatened to be undone with Rand’s return.
  • Tom Pelphrey as Ward Meachum: The son of Harold and childhood acquaintance of Rand’s, whose work building up Rand Enterprises with his sister Joy is threatened to be undone with Rand’s return.
  • Carrie-Anne Moss as Jeri Hogarth: An attorney who helps Rand once he returns to New York. Moss reprises her role from previous role in Marvel/Netflix’s Jessica Jones.

After a film based on the character spent over a decade in development at Marvel Studios, development for the series began in late 2013 at Marvel Television, with Buck hired as the series show runner in December 2015 and Jones cast as Rand in February 2016. Filming began in New York City in April 2016.

Iron Fist is scheduled to be released on March 17, 2017

Mark your calendars accordingly.

Author: lowbrowcomics

Greetings! Hello! Welcome to my blog page! This is a page dedicated to comic books, comic book movies, pop culture news and other stuff that I find interesting. I will try to update this page as much as possible with the junk I find interesting. I hope you find it interesting too. Why the name Lowbrowcomics? Well, while comic books can be compelling, imaginative and extremely well written, they aren’t exactly Shakespeare. Even though I love reading them, the title of the blog serves as a reminder to just have fun with them. Ok, cool. So what about you? Who are you? I’m glad you asked! I’ve been reading comics for more than 35 years! I remember the day I started pretty clearly. When I was about 3 or 4, my dad came home from work and among the little treats he usually brought home, he brought an issue of the Incredible Hulk, Daredevil and Power-Man and Iron Fist. It was all over after that. All night long we laid on the floor, reading these comics and even though I was too young to read them myself, I listened intently while he discussed and explained Daredevil’s powers, what happens when Hulk gets mad and Iron Fist’s prodigious use of Kung-Fu. From then on out, I wanted to read as much as I could (not limited to comics of course) everything from the Marvel and DC universe. From then on out it was Spider-Man and his Amazing Friends on Saturday morning, Batman birthday cakes, Fantastic Four bed sheets, watching Superman movies and on and on and on. At age 7 in 1984, I was at a birthday party and while most of the kids were playing with toys with the birthday boy, I noticed a TV on in the other room. I poked my head in to see what was on and noticed something strange on the tube. Something I had never seen before. Strange machines were walking across a frozen wasteland shooting lasers at peculiar looking ships, a man clad in all black with a deep raspy voice strode through frozen hallways looking for someone called “The princess”. Yep, you guessed it. The Empire Strikes Back. Thus began my second great love affair. So there you have it, I’m not going to go through all my major milestones with comics, there just isn’t enough bandwidth available :) I just hope you enjoy my blog as much as I enjoy making it! Hit me up on Twitter @lowbrowent. Fin.

Like it? Let's talk about it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.