Wonder Woman Review!

Wonder Woman has finally hit the big screen! After decades in comic books, television, animated movies, the Super Friends, Justice League and Justice League Unlimited and many others i’m probably forgetting, Wonder Woman has finally landed her own feature film.  And it was a really good movie.

A few things I appreciated about the film right off the bat (see what I did there?) were the direction, cinematography and action choreography.  Patty Jenkins should be applauded for taking this character, the mythos and location hopping and not turning it into one big commercial for the upcoming Justice Leauge movie.  You definitely get your tie-ins to the larger DC universe, as shown in the first three scenes of the movie when a Wayne Enterprises armored truck pulls up to the Louvre museum in Paris and a note from Bruce Wayne, but that is it for the rest of the movie.

The movie is told as one complete tale that solely focuses on Wonder Woman and her journey from the relative safety of Themyscira, through the trenches of what I am assuming was the Somme and to the final climactic battle with the head of the German war machine in the grim and grey of World War I.  She has a fully fleshed out character arc and I totally appreciate the care that went into crafting this tale.

Gal Gadot lights up the screen every time she appears and for all intents and purposes IS Wonder Woman.  She is unfairly beautiful, emotive, charismatic, charming and you can tell she fully prepared physically for this role.  She’s the best thing about the movie (as she should be) and I would argue that she was the best thing about Batman V Superman as well.

Chris Pine is Captain Kir– um, Steve Trevor, the dashing spy that crash lands in Themyscira and is the catalyst for Wonder Woman to leave her home and protect the world from the threat of war.  Pine is great as usual, with his familiar Kirk swag, but he never outshines Gadot.  A delicate balance struck by Patty Jenkins, to which more kudos should be given.

I don’t want to go into too much more detail about the movie for fear of spoiling some of the more exciting moments of the movie. Suffice to say, this is a film that should be experienced inside the theater. 

So what are you waiting for?

 

Author: lowbrowcomics

Greetings! Hello! Welcome to my blog page! This is a page dedicated to comic books, comic book movies, pop culture news and other stuff that I find interesting. I will try to update this page as much as possible with the junk I find interesting. I hope you find it interesting too. Why the name Lowbrowcomics? Well, while comic books can be compelling, imaginative and extremely well written, they aren’t exactly Shakespeare. Even though I love reading them, the title of the blog serves as a reminder to just have fun with them. Ok, cool. So what about you? Who are you? I’m glad you asked! I’ve been reading comics for more than 35 years! I remember the day I started pretty clearly. When I was about 3 or 4, my dad came home from work and among the little treats he usually brought home, he brought an issue of the Incredible Hulk, Daredevil and Power-Man and Iron Fist. It was all over after that. All night long we laid on the floor, reading these comics and even though I was too young to read them myself, I listened intently while he discussed and explained Daredevil’s powers, what happens when Hulk gets mad and Iron Fist’s prodigious use of Kung-Fu. From then on out, I wanted to read as much as I could (not limited to comics of course) everything from the Marvel and DC universe. From then on out it was Spider-Man and his Amazing Friends on Saturday morning, Batman birthday cakes, Fantastic Four bed sheets, watching Superman movies and on and on and on. At age 7 in 1984, I was at a birthday party and while most of the kids were playing with toys with the birthday boy, I noticed a TV on in the other room. I poked my head in to see what was on and noticed something strange on the tube. Something I had never seen before. Strange machines were walking across a frozen wasteland shooting lasers at peculiar looking ships, a man clad in all black with a deep raspy voice strode through frozen hallways looking for someone called “The princess”. Yep, you guessed it. The Empire Strikes Back. Thus began my second great love affair. So there you have it, I’m not going to go through all my major milestones with comics, there just isn’t enough bandwidth available :) I just hope you enjoy my blog as much as I enjoy making it! Hit me up on Twitter @lowbrowent. Fin.

Like it? Let's talk about it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.